PDA

View Full Version : Bad Convention Experiences

S&Dproductions
18-Mar-2008, 11:00 PM
I've been surfing the internet and found some threads that first appeared as Savini bashers. People had started a thread of experiences meeting Tom Savini. Out of most of them, said he was an asshole. Some said straight out, "he said nothing but autographs are $20." Maybe this is just fans expecting more out of the man then he wants to give. My personal opinion on the man in these situations is, he gets fans asking him stupid questions all the time. That tends to wear a person down.
So i'm curious. Have you ever had a bad convention experience? Not just Tom Savini, any horror celeb.
Which brings me to my personal story with a horror celeb. I had a horror fan style website of sorts and did scheduled chats. I had ran across Joe Bob Brigg's (Of TNT's Monster Vision) webpage and decided to e-mail the man and ask him to do a chat with the fans. Keep in mind I have never done a celeb style chat before. He agreed to do the chat and posted the date on his website. The day of the chat I had an overwhelming amount of traffic to the page. The page was down and of course Joe Bob to say the least never made it to the chat. Alot of fans were kinda dissapointed, but come to find out, most of the chatters waiting in the room were women that Joe Bob had dated, one-night stands, and broken hearts. These girls were planning to all at once blast him on this chat for publicity or what ever. To say the least, i'm glad he never got into the chat. With this experience, i've found, some celebs lives are just as crazy as ours but their more under the spotlight. These things tend to make us look at these people in a different light.

Danny
18-Mar-2008, 11:33 PM