Thread: US deserter to be deported from Canada...

Zombie Flesh Eater

Canada

US deserter to be deported from Canada...

OK, yes the iraq is an immoral, murderous waste of lives and money BUT this dude volunteered for the military. he had already gotten conscientious objector status and had been placed in a non-combat role.

as a veteran i don't have a lot of patience for this sort of nonsense. no one made this guy join the army and becoming a conscientious objector when you find out you are going to a combat zone strikes me as, well, a bit of a cop out.

http://www.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/americ....ap/index.html

note: i placed this in media instead of general discussion because it revolves around a news story. it probably could go in either room though.
    Last edited by Mike70; 14-Aug-2008 at 12:13 PM.
    "The bumps you feel are asteroids smashing into the hull."

through another dimension bassman's Avatar
    Zombie Flesh Eater

United States
    I never knew you were a veteran...

How can you run after signing up, anyway? What a goon...

*starts counting down the time it takes for this to turn into a political thread where everyone insults each other...*

Chasing Prey

Undisclosed
    No insults here. The army is not my thing, military is not my thing, at all....so I didn't, and haven't, and won't, join the army...makes sense doesn't it? The dude should've thought about that before signing up....there's a chance he might go to combat. However I will say that some of the techniques that various military bodies employ to get people to sign up is disgusting and a high pressure situation, so there is that to consider. They've been known to follow people around trying to get them to sign up....ugh

Zombie Flesh Eater

Undisclosed
    I was talking to a guy yesterday, and he said:

People are afraid of change. People are afraid of people who change their minds. People are afraid of being changed.