Thread: F*ckin Steam...Jesus H Christ!

Ireland

F*ckin Steam...Jesus H Christ!

[rant]
    So, I've upgraded my main HDD to a 1TB drive. Woohoo, loads of space. Now I have to install all my games and stuff again.

I am ALL DAY AT THIS, since 8:30 this morning.

Anyway, it comes to to install 'Fallout New Vegas', 'Napoleon: Total War', 'Skyrim' etc...

I'm STILL on the first bleedin game, 'Fallout New Vegas', which I stated installing 1 HOUR ago!!!! It's still only 1/2 way there. Time Remaining says 2 hours or more!

WTF is up with this Steam bullshit? I've bought the game, I want to install it and play the bloody thing. Is that so much to ask? Why can't I just install from the disk and have it verified by the Steam client? Why does it have to download a game that I have the disk for?????????

The next time I see that a game needs Steam to install, I am going to download a cracked version of it for free. Something I have never done before.

F*ck Steam.

[/rant]
    I'm runnin' this monkey farm now Frankenstein.....

United States
    You can install from the retail disk, then Steam only has to download the patches. Example - New Vegas Retail disk install http://www.gamespot.com/fallout-new-...disc-56810507/

Beware the beast, man, for he is the Devil's pawn. Alone among God's primates, he kills for sport or lust or greed. Yea, he will murder his brother to possess his brother's land. Let him not breed in great numbers, for he will make a desert of his home and yours. Shun him, drive him back into his jungle lair, for he is the harbinger of death.
    - 23rd Sacred Scroll, 6th verse

Ireland
    Cheers EB.

But I ended up just cutting and pasting the whole Steam folder from my old HDD to my new one. After a bit of farting about, it managed to work.

What a day!

Super Moderator

United States
    Steam still freaks me out a bit. I think it's mainly because I'm software challenged, but I'm not a hardcore steam hater like so many people I've seen online.