Thread: George Romero = class act

Undisclosed

George Romero = class act

Just returned from the Texas Frightmare weekend in Dallas, the kick-off stop on the Night of the Living Dead 40th anniversary tour. I've been attending conventions all over the world since 1975--as a fan, a vendor and even as an organizer-- and while all the DEAD guests are very friendly and personable without exception, in my experience, nobody beats George Romero.

This man sat down each day at the start of the convention and did not move from his seat until every photo, poster or piece of memorabilia had been signed, until every hand had been warmly shaken, and until he had given at least a few minutes of his time to each and every fan among the hundreds that had patiently waited in line to meet him.

There were no breaks, no declining enthusiasm, not an inkling of ego or attitude. While tour management saw it fit to double all the guest signature prices since prior conventions just a few months earlier, George made sure that all had received their money's worth and then some. Anyone that felt even the least bit nervous meeting the legendary director was immediately put at ease by his unwavering grin and a funny comment.

I must also give mention to the wonderful Marilyn Eastman, whose accidental fall shortly after arriving in Dallas prevented her from attending both the Night of the Living Dead screening and the first day of the convention. Although injured and probably not at all comfortable, Marilyn braved the insanity of a crowded convention hall for most of Saturday in order to sign autographs and take photos with fans.

It's not the films or the box office successes, but this uncompromising display of goodwill towards others that truly defines a living legend and a class act. It's reassuring to know that we have chosen our heroes wisely.

Banned
    Banned User

United States
    george a romero is my beatles.

Chasing Prey

Undisclosed
    Beautifully written DC....