PDA

View Full Version : Just when you think Wal-Mart can't stoop any lower.....

Purge
27-Mar-2008, 07:30 AM
http://www.cnn.com/2008/US/03/25/walmart.insurance.battle/index.html?imw=Y&iref=mpstoryemail

Unreal.

ProfessorChaos
27-Mar-2008, 08:18 AM
that should be entitled "corporate greed at it's finest".

a lot of people i know are super-opposed to wal-mart and never shop there due to the company's treatment of their workers. i still go there cuz i'm a broke-ass student who likes to save some bread.

pretty crappy way to treat a person, regardless. what i find most sad about this story is the fact that she has to keep being told that her son died in iraq. it really boggles my mind as to why her family just doesn't let her continue to think that he's still serving his tour...at least it'd save her the heartache, and they'd not have to witness it...again....and again....and again.

bassman
27-Mar-2008, 12:50 PM
I feel sorry for the family. I really do. But maybe they should have read the agreement before they signed it?:eek:

zombiegirl
27-Mar-2008, 06:36 PM
It is true that this woman should have read the fine print to the policy that she signed but at the same time how many of us would? It's insurance that is supposed to protect us when we need it. Isn't that why she paid the premiums? Who would ever think A billion dollar company would want monies awarded back since premiums were paid?
More importantly we know that walmart employees make little over minimum wage. It hires people from poor small town communities who live paycheck to paycheck and are not schooled in legal wording or accustomed to looking for insurance clauses such as this. Heck I don't think anything like that would even occur to me when i'm signing insurance papers. Now I want to go reread my policy. (I don't work for wally)