PDA

View Full Version : I am the luckiest bastard in the world

krakenslayer
06-Oct-2009, 05:23 PM
I just got a new job, and my old work let me finish today and is paying me to sit on my ass for twenty days until the new one starts!!

For those of you who don't know, I hate my job. Or hat-ED it.

I work(ed) in a call centre trying to sell Card Protection cover to little old ladies and grumpy old men who just want to activate their credit cards. And I was bad at it, too. Mostly because I'm not good at twisting people's arms when they really don't want to do something. I am not a pushy kinda guy, it was the wrong job for me.

So yesterday I got a call from HMV confirming that they wish to take me on at the end of this month as a Sales Assistant (fixed term for xmas with a good possibility of getting kept on permanently afterwards). Today I walked into work and told my boss I had found another job and was leaving, expecting to have to haggle them down from four weeks notice to two/three. My boss was an awesome boss - even though I hated the job itself, she was always great - but I fully expected her to be more than a little bit pissed off with my decision (especially considering how much help and support she's put in to helping me reach targets, etc.). Not so, it seems.

She was very understanding and had a word with her boss who, it seems, has been under pressure to re-deploy some guys from another department into my one, but had no leeway to create new jobs for them. Apparently, my leaving actually saves his ass on this issue, so he's repaying me the favour by letting me leave immediately and keeping me on full pay until my new job starts!!! This all happened in the space of about two hours. I am sooooo happy.

FUCKING YESSSS!!!!! TWENTY DAY HOLIDAY!!!

(hence the "yeehaw" mood)

AcesandEights
06-Oct-2009, 06:08 PM
Nice, dude! Congratulations! No time for enjoying the fruits of your labor than the present, I say...so get out there and have a blast this next month!