PDA

View Full Version : Spook Central: Ghostbusters gets the room 237 treatment

Danny
11-Jun-2013, 08:17 PM
sdueGUDmr0o

God i wish this was real. As a film grad myself i know just easily some people sit around, read something out of nothing and blather about "hidden meanings" and semiotics for hours. I think this is a spoof trailer, but even if this was real and not a tongue in cheek parody? it could still be the best comedy in years :lol:

MinionZombie
12-Jun-2013, 10:19 AM
Yeah, that looks more like a piss take than a real thing ... I've not seen Room 237, but would like to (with a salt shaker nearby for the wackiest theories) ... however, to be fair, the theory about space and impossible rooms/corridors etc is justified and real ... but when I heard that one of the theories is about 'ooh, the moon landings are fake', I just thought "oh, piss off".

Yeah - you can read whatever you want into a film. For instance, on a Spielberg/Lucas course we had to do a class presentation about one of the films on the list, and we had "Duel", and we ended up saying that it was a metaphor for male rape ... however, we clued the class in-on-this before the teacher arrived (who was reknowned for reading total smut into Disney films), in that we were making it up as a joke ... anyway, the teacher took it seriously, lapped it up and we got a good mark.

You could certainly read a theme of masculinity into Duel - the great big industrial truck, and the pokey little red car with the ineffective suburban white collar business man driving it, being forced into action to save his own life and ultimately being triumphant ... ... but, as stated to our classmates before that presentation, our reading of it as a metaphor for male rape was total bollocks.