PDA

View Full Version : DEADLANDS -The HPotD MEMBER REVIEW Thread.

Bunker65
19-Sep-2006, 05:54 PM
Firstly, let me say that I am far from a professional reviewer ;). I’m just a huge fan of the genre that enjoys all types of zombie movies with the works of George A. Romero being my favorites.

With that said, I will attempt to give you my impressions of Deadlands which I was fortunate enough to win in the HPOTD competition. I will not give away any details in terms of the movie. You'll need to get your own copy for that :D.

In my humble opinion, Deadlands is a great film & DJ, LC & everyone involved in making it should be very proud of the film & their efforts in bringing it to fruition.

One of the criteria I use in determining if I like a film is “Do I want this to end”. With Deadlands I can tell you that the answer to that question was a resounding “NO”.

While there were a few actors in the film that were not that great (which is to be expected from non professionals), I felt that mostly everyone did a great job.

The FX & makeup were great. It’s amazing the job that was done with the lack of budget that DJ was working with. Kudos have to go out to those responsible for the FX & makeup.

Any of you that have downloaded the soundtrack will be very impressed that the music fit in really well with the film. It blended in nicely & didn’t take anything away from the film which can sometimes happen with soundtracks.

Just in case, I'm going to use the spoiler tag here. I don't think it's a spoiler since what's listed below can be seen in the trailer. I just want to make 100% sure that I don't give anything away :cool:.

My favorite scenes were at the traffic jam. I loved the far shots of the zombies approaching & the mayhem that they caused when they arrived. Very memorable scenes :cool:.

I was very, very impressed & have to give everyone that worked on the film a big thumbs up http://www.websmileys.com/sm/happy/1055.gif. http://www.websmileys.com/sm/happy/1356.gif