PDA

View Full Version : External Hard-drives...

MinionZombie
08-Nov-2006, 12:20 PM
Okay, so I'm looking into getting myself an external hard-drive and came across a couple, but I'm new to the external hard-drive game, so any advice/comments on the following ones I've spotted would be cool.

I've got £100 max to spend and have spied a couple of options:

Buffalo 300gb, £80 (was £100 a couple of days ago):

http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/4-/1102656/Buffalo_300GB_DriveStation_External_Hard_Drive_USB 2_0_HDD/Product.html

Buffalo 300gb (SATA) £109:

http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/4-/1102644/Buffalo_300GB_Drive_Station_External_Hard_Drive/Product.html

(not sure what the difference is, any ideas? What's this "SATA" thing? Why is it more expensive but the same size?)

Seagate 320gb, £80 (reduced from £130, PC World special offer):

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/store/pcw_page.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@1099189391.116299185 2@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccckaddjfmihldkcflgceggdhhmdgmh.0&page=Product&fm=null&sm=null&tm=null&sku=240892&category_oid=

What are your comments/thoughts on these external hard-drives? Not sure about the Seagate one, it's been advertised all over TV recently, but being reduced by £50 at PC World makes me a bit cautious. I was mainly thinking about the £80 Buffalo 300gb one (first link), but what's the difference between that and the same one which has "SATA" whatever that is?

Cheers chaps (and chapettes).

DjfunkmasterG
08-Nov-2006, 12:27 PM
I use the seagate drives. All the files for my film are on those.

LouCipherr
08-Nov-2006, 12:37 PM
(not sure what the difference is, any ideas? What's this "SATA" thing? Why is it more expensive but the same size?)