PDA

View Full Version : What makes George A Romero an auteur?

Film Student
01-Feb-2007, 08:16 PM
Hi my name is richard and im a film student.
I have a project to discuss weather george a romero is an autuer, but as i looked on the internet sites all the sites were saying that he was an auteur. So ive decided to change my title to why is he an auteur.

I would like you to tell me why you think he may or may not be an autuer.

any information you give will be really helpfull for my project

axlish
01-Feb-2007, 09:09 PM
In his earlier films, his rapid fire editing was his calling card. He also had a knack for taking bits and pieces of music, and producing entirely new music out of it, creating for an interesting feel. His scripts are always filled with social commentary, even today. He was certainly more of an auteur in his earlier career from Night of the Living Dead and ending with Day of the Dead. His movies since then have involved more fingers in the creative pie, and he cannot lay as much claim to the creative element as he did earlier in his career.

EvilNed
01-Feb-2007, 10:08 PM
Well, if I'm not mistaken there is no real exact criteria for being an autheur. Thus defining a person as an auteur immidietly becomes tricky. Is Tim Burton an auteur? Or is he just a good filmmaker?

MinionZombie
01-Feb-2007, 10:14 PM
I wrote an essay exactly about whether GAR is an auteur or not ... and no, I ain't givin' it ya :D ... I did conclude that he was/is an auteur. It was a fun essay to write though.

Danny
01-Feb-2007, 10:28 PM